Goals–January 2012

My first goal for January 2012 comes from Proverbs 31 verse 17:

She dresses herself with strength and makes her arms strong.

To accomplish this goal, I have started the 8 week “Armed & Dangerous” program on our Biggest Loser Game (game? that can’t be right) on X-Box Kinect.  I love this program for a lot of reasons.  First, using the Kinect is literally like employing a personal trainer.  It can see you and encourage you to move faster, pull your body into the appropriate position, track your reps, etc.  Second, it designs the program for you based on how many times per week you want to exercise.

I’ve been running on my elliptical machine  for forty minutes two times per week consistently last semester while watching Ugly Betty  and this is a habit that I truly enjoy.  I plan to continue doing this on Monday and Friday mornings like I have been, but will be adding the “Armed & Dangerous” 20 minute program Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday to meet another Proverbs 31 goal from verse 15:

She rises when it is yet night.

Which is not one I’m looking forward to.  I’m a classic sleeper-iner.  I love, love, love to stay up late (like really late) and sleep late.  I’ve trained my babies to be the same way.  Case-in-point: all three of us have slept until 10 whenever possible this Christmas Break.  Accomplishing this goal is really easy this time of year because it’s basically night all day (okay, maybe just from like 4:30 pm to 8 am), but I’m taking it a step further accomodate the additional “Armed & Dangerous” workouts.  I will definitely be revisiting this goal in the summer when it will truly be a challenge for me.  Right now, if I’m being honest, it’s kind of a one-off.

My third goal for January comes from Proverbs 31 verse 22:

She makes bed coverings for herself….

This is where the whole “modern twist” comes in–a couple of years ago, Matt and I a really pretty comforter set which has been on the floor of our bedroom ever since.  I’ve probably fully “made” our bed (not just pulled up the down comforter) 10 times in the last 2 years.  This is after a lifetime of being a diligent bed-maker at the request of my mother.  Since we’ve been married, I’ve done a terrible job with this, so my third goal for January is to make my bed all the way to the pillows 5 days a week.  Why 5 days a week? Because 2 days a week, my worship pastor husband is still in there when I leave for work :).

So, those are my goals for January.  I’ll be posting updates through out the month, so be sure to check back and hold me accountable!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rose
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 18:13:25

    Now I see how I can comment! haha

    Reply

  2. Tracey
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 07:57:58

    Wow – I love how you related your goals to Proverbs 31!! I’ve already made my 2012 goals, but maybe I’ll “borrow” your idea for 2013!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

