6 under 5

My brother comes over for dinner every Wednesday with his two babies while our spouses work late.  I love it because it gives me time to geek out with my bro (LOST, Hunger Games, etc) and I get to smooch on my adorable nephew and sweet niece.

This week, we were blessed to have a couple of extra boys join us, which gave us 6 kids under 5 years old.  During the time we spent together, all of the following happened:

–3 diaper changes (this number seems remarkably low)

–TWWWOOOOO NINJAS!

my nephew being the first one to finish his dinner (rare)

–BJD running around sans clothing

–miscellaneous hitting, kicking, etc.

–THRREEEEEE NINJAS!

–Whining, fussing, crying, etc (all 6 participated in this!)

–Two bowls full of food were knocked the the floor

–a lot of beating up on Uncle Jonny

–FOOOOUUUURRRRRRR NINJAS!

–repeated exclamations of this sentence: I SAID NOT WHEN I’M HOLDING THE BABY!!

–carrying poor Rowdy around by his head

–repeated exasperated sighs of this sentence: You can’t have a cookie until you eat your dinner.

–FIIIIIIIIVEEEE NINJAS!

And now, for your viewing pleasure, a photo containing all of the items that were confiscated for one reason or another throughout the course of the night:

I’m so thankful for this stage of my life.  Yes, it’s a little exhausting to work all day (with 3rd graders, no less) and come home to 6 loud, rambunctious, screaming, laughing, crying, refusing to eat their dinner children–but it’s a house so full of love that my heart bursts at the very thought of it.  It was always my goal to truly enjoy every stage of my own life–meaning that I didn’t want to wish away my teen years wanting to be older  (or my college years, or our early married life) and I now have the same goal for my children.  I don’t want to wish away their toddler years wanting them to be potty trained or less fussy or better eaters (okay, I want them to be better eaters–but that seems totally reasonable to me).  Tonight my night was LOUD and MESSY and I would not have wanted it any other way.

And thanks to my awesome brother for sharing it with me.  I’m betting that they’re aren’t a lot of opposite gender sibling sets who’d sign on to take care of 6 kids under 5 together :).  Love you, Brother!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladymiryaa
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 20:36:57

    Pretty sure I am curious as to who you confiscated the hammer from and why!!!

    Reply

    • cjdilley
      Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:10:32

      My son & his buddy both had it–I don’t remember who I actually took it from, but I’m pretty sure that hitting the “little kids ” was the reason for the confiscation 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

