My humble opinion of a made bed

She makes coverings for her bed. Proverbs 31:22

A made bed to me is so much more than that.  As ridiculous as it sounds, a made bed indicates to me that a person is organized, prosperous, and has self respect.  That’s ridiculous, that I think that, right?? It’s maybe even a little pompous and holier-than-thou.  You’re probably saying to yourself, “She’s been in my house and my bed wasn’t made–what does she think of me?”  Relax.  I’m as guilty of not making my bed as the next person.

Think about it like this–a made bed indicates that a person gets up with enough time to do something that is completely unnecessary.  From a “starving children in Africa” perspective, making ones bed falls extremely low on the priority list.  Having bed coverings at all, especially really super nice ones that cost tons of money is even lower on the priority list–and yet there it is, and in the Bible no less.  She makes coverings for her bed.

The Proverbs 31 woman had a lot on her plate.  It was her job to keep the family fed and clothed–think about all the things we have today that make our lives easier and better.  I’ll wait.  Okay, now think about things beyond the obvious (no dish washer, no washing machine, no OPI fingernail polish)–grinding your own flour, making your own soap, making your own CLOTH so that you could make clothes.  I’m not a super-Bible scholar, but I’m betting that at least a couple of those were on the Proverbs 31 Woman’s daily/weekly/monthly/yearly to-do list.  Yet somehow she’s still expected to “make coverings for her bed.”

How? Time management.  I think that’s what a made bed represents to me–a person who has mastered time management.  People who have mastered time-management are (I’m guessing) typically more successful in all areas of their life….and that’s what I want.  I don’t want to be the woman forcing herself out of bed at the last possible second, leaving baskets of laundry, sink fulls of dishes, and an unmade bed in her wake as she rushes out the door.  I guess a small part of me thinks that if I can master the art of making my bed every morning (down to the 8 decorative pillows that came with the set), the other areas of my life will slowly fall into place, too.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cjdilley
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 22:13:56

    well said, Bear. And I think you’ll find out that things do fall into place better when there is a plan – even if its a small plan :o)

    Reply

    • cjdilley
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:59:20

      For the record, this was from my mama, PJ. I had logged onto her computer and it must have kept me logged on. Oops!

      Reply

  2. Nancy
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:52:42

    This was kind of funny to me. I started reading FlyLady’s website, and she suggests making the bed. Not hospital corners or anything, but just put the covers back up to the top. It takes about 20 seconds to do, and makes you feel so much better when you look at the bed, and when you get ready to get back into it (the only problem being when hubby falls asleep on TOP of the covers, which drives me crazy, I have to wake him up to either get under the covers or push the covers down if he’s not going to use them).
    And I am not very organized, even now that I have started “making” the bed. But it helps!

    Reply

    • cjdilley
      Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:58:38

      My mother loves the Fly Lady. She feels very strongly about her shiny sink!! I would say that my organizational intentions are good, but my execution over the last few years has been somewhat lacking. I’m working on that now. Stay tuned!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

