I’m sorry to have to do this, folks

A few minutes ago I had a person write two comments on my Ladies Room Fashion Show from yesterday that I removed.  I then sent the following email directly to the address that the person who posted the comment listed.  The email immediately bounced back.  I really wanted to address this matter privately, but I’ve not been given a choice.  The following is my response to the commenter:

(Okay, I took off the name),

I’ve taken down the comments you put on my blog.  Not because of what you said (I’ll address that later), but because you give the name of the school where I work.  I know that people could find out the name and location of my school if they really wanted to because it’s public information, but I don’t want if offered on the blog because I think it could potentially be dangerous.  I don’t use my own children’s names on the blog-if fact, I don’t use any children’s names on the blog and I feel the same way about the name of my school.  It could potentially put the children at risk.

To address the most serious of your accusations, I do not take the pictures during the time that the children are in the building.  That would be extremely  unprofessional.  I especially don’t take them in the restroom when the children are having their restroom break–that time is hectic enough as it is without me adding to it by wasting time taking pictures.  It would also take precious instructional minutes away from my students, and anyone who has ever spent any time in my classroom knows that is not something I put up with!

As far as “if she spent as much time teaching as she does posing…she could make a major influence in our children’s education and lives” goes, I usually snap the pictures on my way out the door in the afternoons.  As I stated on my blog the first day I started it, I take all the pictures with an iPhone.  I really don’t think the approximately 10 seconds it takes to open my Instagram app and snap the picture is taking away from my students’ education.  I also upload all the pictures to the blog directly from my phone.  I’d say over all that process takes about 30 seconds.  To reiterate, there are no kids in the building during this time, so if anything, I’m taking time away from my family to take these photos, not my job.

Thank you for your care for the children at my school.  I really appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention.  It gives me a REALLY good excuse to go buy that new mirror for my bedroom I’ve been drooling over.  I think you’re right, I don’t want to put myself in a position for my commitment to my students and their education could be questioned–I can say “the kids weren’t in the building” all day long, but you won’t believe me, and that’s unfortunate, because I’m telling the truth.

Carrie

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mel
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 17:11:15

    Hey sweetheart, don’t you let such rubbish spoil your Day. You are an awesome teacher and mom – i Know that. People like this are jealous because maybe their lifes are boring or maybe they did not accomplish the things they expected from Life. They are just Not satisfied…i Love you. And so are a Lot of other People. I like your Blog and always Read it but extremely seldom post anything at all…but this Time i had the Feeling i had to say something to cheer you up! Xoxoxo

    Reply

  2. ratina
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 21:10:06

    Wow. People can be unfair and most the time it is because of their own insecurities. You know you are amazing and they are probably just jealous because you look fiiiiiine nowadays #NotHittingOnYou haha just happy for you

    Reply

  3. henry
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 14:33:32

    Some people are just idiots and will look for literally any excuse to criticize and belittle others. Don’t worry about it, you’re doing fine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

