Weight Loss Wednesdays

My dad has had a life-long dream to ride his bike from Indianapolis to Richmond.  Bike as in pedals, not hogs.  October 15, 2011, Matt, my brother, my cousin & I made that dream a reality.  In three hours and forty-five minutes we rode 60 glorious miles.  It was one of the greatest experiences of my life.

When people find about about it the often look at me and say (sometimes out loud, sometimes in their heads) “Well, no wonder you’re skinny.  You rode 60 miles.”  Let me address those thoughts:

1) Skinny & fat are not words I love using.  There was a time in my life when I had very little self control, didn’t know a lot about food and didn’t exercise on a regular basis.  Now I know somethings about food, I workout regularly, and I exercise self-control to the best of my ability.  Most of the time :).

2) Yes.  One Saturday morning I burnt 3,000.  It was great.  It was one time.  I’m 40 pounds lighter because of decisions I make on a daily basis.

So, what DID I do??  Okay, here goes.  I started drinking Body by Vi meal replacements shakes two times a day.  I know what you’re thinking: that sounds like Slim Fast.  You’re right.  It does.  It’s not.  I’ve learned a ton about this product and I won’t bore you with the details (unless you email me and want them), but I will say this: Slim Fast has almost no protein and absolutely no fiber.  Body by Vi has a ton of protein (20 grams!) and a great amount of fiber (I think 5 somethings–can’t remember if it’s grams or milligrams or whatever.  You have the internets, look it up!).  I replaced two meals that I thought were healthy with two meals that actually were–and low cal.  And delicious.  I love them.

I also started counting calories.  This sucks a little.  I found an app that counts my calories for me, which is really, really helpful.  It’s called “Calorie Counter” and is available on both the Android Market and Apple’s App store for free.  With 3G service, you can access the calorie count in just about any food and nearly every restaurant.  It really helps me make healthy choices.  I mean, I can burn 400 calories working out, but isn’t easier to not consume those calories in the first place??

The third step? Exercise.  I set up an exercise routine and I’ve stuck with it.  We ride bikes when it’s warm enough, I run on my elliptical machine 2 times a week and I’m currently doing a Biggest Loser program on our X-Box Kinect called “Armed & Dangerous.”

There’s one more little thing, but it’s important enough that I think it deserves its own post, and that’s for next week.  See you then :).

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy M.
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 21:58:22

    LOVE THIS!!! Body by Vi is life changing. What an inspiration. Thanks for sharing and showing others that it is possible!

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 09:57:55

    Dude. I want to know the “little thing”. Unfair cliffhanger.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Weight Loss Wednesdays | Living Proverbs 31

Leave a Reply

