DIY–Making Your Own Soap

She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Proverbs 31:27

My mother thinks I’m weird.  I do odd things like make my own soap.  Well, I repurpose bar soap that we’ll never use into liquid soap that we need.  Now, pennies are not so tight around here that we can’t afford to buy hand soap, but saving a few on liquid soap allows us to put those pennies towards things we really want, like Nutella and Smartphones.  Now, for the record, I didn’t come up with this method.  I googled it last summer and combined several “recipes” to come up with this method.

Anyway, making your own liquid soap out of bar soap isn’t as hard or as fun as you think it will be. Ha.  You need four things:  bar soap, cheese grater, large pot, and water.  Apparently you can add some glycerin or something, but I’ve never done this and my stuff’s turned out fine.

Here’s what you do:

Grate the soap over the large pot with the cheese grater.  This will take a long time.  Your arm will get tired.  Remind yourself that the Proverbs 31 woman has strong arms.  Continue grating.

20120118-220551.jpg

Don’t breathe in the little soap sprinkly things.  Apparently those can hurt you.  So don’t do that, m’kay?

20120118-220609.jpg

Keep turning the soap bar over and over again so that it gets used on all sides.  Again, this is going to take a while.  Maybe 20 minutes of just constant grating.  You will survive.  As long as you don’t breathe it in.  Then you’re on your own.

20120118-220625.jpg

Whew.  You did it.  You turned the bar of soap into little soap sprinkly things.  Excellent work.  Take the pot over to the sink and fill it up with water.  I used the water to wash the soap off the cheese grater because, hey, more free soap, right?

Okay, so now you just boil it for a little while and stir it.  The little soap sprinkly things will sort of melt into the water.  Now the easy part: you wait.  Stir the soap and let it sit for a few days.  Yeah, I said a few days.  Stir it when you walk through kitchen every once in a while.  It will thicken up over a day or so.  Then you’re on your own.  Sometimes I use a funnel to pour it in and sometimes I just dip the bottles into the soap.  Generally it makes a giant mess, but hey, it’s soap, so it’s a clean mess :).

See, what’d I tell you, making your own soap is not so bad.  Oh, by the way, this makes A TON of soap.  Save your containers because you’re going to need them.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jayme
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 18:08:36

    I’ll try this. I already make our laundry soap from scratch and it saves a bundle. That stuffs expensive and the recipe I use is good for The newer washers. Plus it’s great for sensitive skin bc it doesn’t have anything artificial in it.

    Reply

  2. Shelli
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 18:46:03

    We use our bar soap in the showers all the way to the end, but that is a great idea! I have also seen a Pampered Chef pump that mixes liquid soap and water and turns it into foam to stretch the liquid soap. Of course, that might be so fun the kids would spend time in the bathroom playing with it and wasting soap. haha

    Reply

  3. Susan
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 19:33:41

    Good job, Carrie!!!

    Reply

  4. jess
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 08:15:49

    Have you made laundry detergent? If not, I have a really good recipe that I love

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Mexican Lasagna | Living Proverbs 31

Leave a Reply

