Quad Update

If you’ve been following my blog since the beginning, you remember that during my very first workout session, I pulled my left quad.  I truly believe it was Satan trying to discourage me.

The good news is that my quad is back to normal.  I told you Satan picked the wrong girl to mess with.

The bad news is that Satan wasn’t done with us.  The good news is that God provides for every need and has His hand on our family.

Tuesday morning went like this for our family:  I got up, worked out, and showered as usual.  While I was in the shower, the sink started bubbling.  I got out as quick as I could.

Matt immediately started dealing with the pipes (calling Roto Rooter, turning off the water, putting towels in the sink so when they spray it doesn’t get all over everything, opening up the thing outside so that they backed up into the yard, not the house, etc.).

I went upstairs to get dressed only to realize that the roof was leaking in our closet.  The water dripping was really warm because it was coming down through the light in our closet.

The toilet started over flowing (despite not having been flushed) so Matt asked me to go get some yuck towels to clean that up.  I went downstairs only to realize that something was dripping hard core over by the furnace.  I threw some towels over that, yelled for Matt to come check it out, and ran back upstairs.

When I came back upstairs, I noticed that the hole in the ceiling was leaking again, too.

I’m not making this stuff up, people.

Somehow through it all, we also managed to get the kids up, dressed and the three of us out the door by 7:10 am.  I’d also like the record to stated that neither Matt nor I lost our temper with each other or broke down despite the absolute insanity of that morning.  Matt stayed home, cleaned up the mess, waited on the plumber, and was generally awesome.  He also made dinner that night (back off, ladies, he’s MINE).

We know our pipes are old and clay and that they need to be replaced.  The pipes inside the house are fine, but the ones leading to the house are in bad shape.  This morning, they started bubbling again.

This is a huge blessing.

According to the weather reports, there’s a storm coming through tonight.  If they’d waited until tonight to start bubbling, we could have been in trouble.  This morning, however, it’s dry out (except for the ice) and the sun is shining.  We can get them fixed again.  It will be okay.  God is in control.

This blog is going well, folks.  I’m getting an awesome number of hits each day and people keep contacting me and saying these awesome things like “you’ve inspired me to read the bible more,” or “I’m ready to start a healthier lifestyle,” or “I can really see God moving in my life.”  Satan hates this and he’s going to continue attacking my quads, house and anything else he can think of because he doesn’t want us (any of us–and that includes you) to live and grow and thrive in God.

One way or another, these pipes are going to be okay and it will all work out.  I stayed home from church to wait for the plumber and (hopefully) their work will be covered by our 6-month warranty that we purchased Tuesday.  And no matter what, we’ll say, “Blessed be Your Name.”

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rose
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 11:11:03

    I would have FREAKED out! Glad you guys could take it in stride 🙂

    Reply

  2. Dawn
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 11:57:36

    Carrie, I can so relate to this. My week has been similiar from drain/garbage disposal problems to a car in the shop. Satan has a way of sneeking in and I have to admit I am weak at times…well a lot of the time… but I remember God is in Control and he never gives me more that I can handle…sometimes I just wish it didn’t all come at once.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: WOW. | Living Proverbs 31
  4. Julie W.
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 14:27:34

    Another reason why I admire you! You teach me something daily and remind me that indeed God is in control. Thank you!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Week 3 Update | Living Proverbs 31
  6. Mel
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 02:21:27

    I am glad you Write this Blog because it gives me the Chance to keep up with what and how You, matt and the Kids are doing and i am really thankful for that. Say hi to mom and dad!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Crazy-Ridiculous List of Things I’ve Been Accomplishing/Want to Accomplish Today Because I’m at Home (again) | Living Proverbs 31

Leave a Reply

