It’s a Big Day for Funny Women

……and she laughs at the time to come. Proverbs 31: 25 (second half)

I know it’s the State of the Union tonight and I should be focused on the state of our country and educational system, but folks, I’m so excited about something else that happened today that I just can’t be very politically minded.

Last year, Matt & I had a blog called Til DVD Do Us Part. It was funny, it was awesome, it didn’t take, blah bubity blah blah blah. Whatever. I’m over it. We still love movies. We watch as much as we can and read Entertainment Weekly, well, weekly. Today the Academy Award nominations for the best movies in 2011 was released, and ladies, holds your heads up high because we did GOOD.

Bridesmaids received TWO nominations. I know, girls, I’m excited about it, too. Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo received nods for writing and Melissa McCarthy was nominated for Best Supporting Actress. This is huge, ladies (and gentlemen, if you’re out there), HUGE. I know that there are those of you who will say that this movie is crass and inappropriate, and you’re right. It is. But the thing is, guys, there’s a real person on the other side of this blog. Yes, I’m growing in Christ and taking you all on that journey with me, but I still like funny movies–and I thought Bridesmaids was hilarious.

Funny movies don’t get Oscar nominations–they just don’t. In my more cynical moods, I say things like “you’re not suicidal after watching a movie, it can’t possibly be an Oscar contender.” On a more mature day, I say that comedy is not appreciated by the Academy.

I love things that are funny and clever and well done (except steak, don’t over cook my steak) and I am THRILLED to see a movie that was almost entirely made up of women, from the cast to the crew receive an Oscar nomination, and we got that in The Help, girls–which also received it’s fair share of Oscar nominations. But, girls, girls, can we take a moment and bask in the fact that brilliant, funny, awesome ladies received nominations for their work today??

Today was a great day for comedy. A really great day.

20120124-230357.jpg

In a rush for time, I just snapped a picture of two of the bridesmaids dresses I’ve had the pleasure of wearing :).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephen
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 18:09:25

    I’m so saddened to hear officially til DVD do us part is no more. But fear not coming out of retirement can be just as fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

